Brody Smartie Pants

February 1, 2007 at 12:42 pm (Uncategorized)

Michael got word today from the Montessori school (Brody used to call it the January school) that they want to advance Brody to the Pre-K class. I’m not exactly sure what it means, but I’m thinking that he may start Kindergarten earlier. I’m hoping for this. I graduated when I was 17 and it wasn’t so bad. This way, he can be a brain surgeon at 24!!

Speaking of graduating… I’m really surprised that I actually graduated from any school! I happened to be looking at pictures and my baby book last night, when I discovered all of my report cards from every grade. Thanks Mom for helping me remember the nightmare that was school.

My grade 4 teacher, Mr. Phillips was really hard on me. Back then, teachers actually reported things on your report card. My effort level was always average. I never exceeded average. My handwriting was untidy and messy. As was my desk. Little did they know that my brain was the same.

I think that I was lazy – the teachers would write notes to my parents – my parents would respond… but I don’t remember them doing anything about it. Or if they did, I didn’t comply. If you’d have looked at my grades, you wouldn’t have guessed that I have such a high IQ now. You’d probably be thinking how surprised you were that I could tie my own shoes. 🙂

It was nice to look back on old photos. It’s too bad I didn’t write anyone’s names on their pictures – because I can’t remember a single person! Of course there was Barry Rinas, my boyfriend in Grade 5 and 6, and Michael Sylyzka – the boy who ate all of my Bonne Bell lip glosses. But who was that kid in between them? And what was Clinton’s last name? Why don’t you ask me my phone number from when I was 6? I can tell you that.

Because the boys are starting “school” soon, I have decided that I’m going to do a few things so that when they look back – they won’t be wondering who that kid with the glasses is. It’s the least I can do. According to my grades in school – I may not be able to finish it because my handwriting and desk are untidy. But we’ll see. I may just surprise Mr. Phillips!

Leave a Reply

