Listen to a life…

March 2, 2007 at 10:56 am (Uncategorized)

A friend at work has a daughter who is a Senior in High School. She is conducting an interview with a guy that we work with and the questions looked so great, that I thought I would answer them too. There are several sets of questions, this is the first set.

Childhood

1. When and where were you born?

I was born in Edmonton, Alberta Canada on November 10, 1971.

2. What do you remember most about childhood?

I remember my sense of family. We were always doing things with extended family. I also remember laughing a lot and playing cards.

3. Do you have any siblings? Ages?

I have 1 brother, he’s uh… (carry the one) 32 I think?

4. What was school like?

It was fun.  I mean, come on – I was a kid in school.  We painted, we colored, we learned some stuff.  How can that be bad?  ha! 

5. Did you have a favorite toy/activity?

I loved loved loved my Mrs. Beasley doll. We also played a lot of games – you name it we played it.  Mostly cards though.  

6. What was the biggest moment in your childhood?

It would have to be when I went to stay with my Uncle on their farm. His sister (My Aunt) ended up dying around the same time, so I went with their family to her funeral.  When we got to My Aunt’s house after her funeral, it was a huge shock for me.  I could clearly see that these were poor people. They didn’t have electricity or indoor plumbing. It was a turning point in my childhood. Every kid thinks that other people live the same way they do. To see a dirt floor and a bucket with a toilet seat on it was really life changing.  Not at the time, of course – but I realize it now.

7. Who was your favorite teacher? Why?

My favorite teacher was Mrs. Marion. 3rd grade. She was nice and she had a horse!

8. What was your first job? How was the salary?

My first job was running the ice cream bikes in town. My brother and I owned 4 (or was it 2?)  ice cream bikes and I convinced all of his friends to ride them around town and sell ice cream. I don’t remember the salary – but I remember that we always had money if we needed it.

9. Who was your best friend?

In Vimy it was Crystal Landry and in Busby it was Leslie Thompson. 

10. Who were your heroes/role models?

I really looked up to my parents. I especially loved my Aunts and Uncles. (you can

11. Did you have a favorite movie? TV show?

I loved the Smurfs.  🙂

12. What did you want to be when you grew up?

I don’t recall having thoughts as to work! 🙂 I could be a dental hygienist. That didn’t work out.  

13. Was there any traumatic/dramatic experience that changed your childhood?

There were a few.  A few traumatic experiences that happened with cousins.  One died when she fell off a horse and I remember how sad her mom was.  One was seriously injured in a fire.  Both, very heartbreaking times.

See?  Good questions right?

Leave a Reply

