A new schedule

April 3, 2007 at 12:54 pm (Uncategorized)

I started a new shift at work today.  I decided yesterday morning that getting to work at 8:30 – home at 5:00 just wasn’t working for me.  By the time I’m even remotely ready to start dinner both boys are hanging off my pant legs – crying and whining for dinner because they are starving. 

Fortunately for me, I have an amazingly understanding boss, who – at a moment’s notice -decided to let me change my hours.  I am now getting home 1/2 hour earlier than usual – which, if you do the math, puts me ahead of the game by about 45 minutes.  I don’t understand how the math works, I just know that boys will be fed 45 minutes earlier than usual.  Which makes me a very happy woman. 

I had everything set to be up this morning at 4:45 am (that is before dawn if you are keeping track).  I was going to go to the gym and get my workout finished (without Mommy guilt even being involved – YAY). Of course, as soon as that alarm rang, I immediately reset it for 6:00 am and continued sleeping.  I did incur slight guilt at resetting my alarm but quickly demolished it with “I’m sick – I need to rest.”  Works every time! 

I don’t think that I could physically get to the gym in my current condition.  The reasons are listed below:

  • I don’t have a tissue holder on my gym clothes.  Trust me – I need tissue.
  • I would have to stop the treadmill to cough – which completely defeats the purpose.
  • I just don’t feel like it and that should be a good enough reason.

I shouldn’t have to make up other reasons.  Why isn’t it a good enough reason?  Because (a) I’m a woman; (b) I’m a woman whose husband works out and I am so jealousing the changes happening in his body (i want those changes too); (c) I really need physical activity to keep from going crazy (I yell less, it’s really good for everyone in my household); and (d) I need/want to shed 10-15 pounds. 

Going through all of these lists will motivate me to set my alarm clock for 4:45 am tonight – I can’t guarantee that I won’t reset it to 6:00 am though.  I’m just going to have to be good with that.  

I have to say, I’ve been quite productive at work today.  So productive, in fact, that my boss actually commented on it!  I can see this schedule is working out for everyone. 

Leave a Reply

