Where did my weekend go?

April 9, 2007 at 3:28 pm (Uncategorized)

I can’t believe it’s Monday already!  I feel as though I haven’t slept all weekend.  Friday night was the usual junk food, movies, staying up late routine.  Saturday, we gathered the boys and their things for their sleep over at G’ma and G’pa’s house because ‘we the adults’ were headed out of town for a concert and an overnight stay at a friend’s cabin.  This was a special treat for everyone!

I used to love staying over at my Grandma Z’s house.  Between her and my Grandpa, we did anything and everything.  She taught me to crochet, G’pa taught us to work with wood, we cooked, we ate, we played, we even gardened!  But the best part?  The absolute best part was sleeping in their guest bed.  She had the heaviest quilt, we’d crawl in and she’d lay that quilt over us – we’d sink into the bed a little further and immediately fall asleep.  I don’t remember moving once we were tucked in.   

I have hoped that my boys would be just as excited to spend time with their grandparents.  It was (and still is) very important to me that the grandparents (both sets) really enjoy their grandsons.  I want visits to be a treat for everyone.  

Saturday morning was crazy.  Michael and I were packing for our overnight trip, the boys were packing all of their toys for their night at grandma’s house. Brody and Evan really don’t have a very good grasp of time, I can say 10 minutes or 2 hours and I get the same reaction.  Brody began the “are we going to grandma’s house?” questions at 9:30 am and repeated it every 10 minutes after that.  We weren’t scheduled to be there until noon – it was a very long 2 1/2 hours.   Not even a movie could keep them from asking to go. 

We finally packed up the car and headed over.  Brody was elated!  We spent time visiting before we left and Michael headed into the kitchen where the boys were playing.  Brody said to him “aren’t you gone yet?”  I think Brody was excited for a new set of rules without his parents around.  Michael’s mom spoils the boys rotten.  Apparently, it’s in her grandparent contract.  

 I’m not quite sure what they did, but I think they played for 24 hours straight.  Evan didn’t cry, Brody was a good big brother, the G’parents were happy to have them (they might even agree to let the boys stay over again), games were played, Brody bossed everyone around, Evan almost broke everything he touched – all in all – a good time was had by all. 

Michael and I had a great time at the Rascal Flatts concert with our friends A&T.  I purchased the tickets months ago, complete with a pre-show BBQ – so we had been looking forward to this for a long time.  The food was OK, I don’t think I would do the BBQ again.  We had so much fun at the concert, it was nice to just hangout and not have to yell at our kids or break up fights.  A&T have 2 girls and when the 4 kids are together, mayhem breaks out.  Anyway, to have actual adult time with good friends was awesome!  Parents really need time away from their kids and vice versa.  I didn’t feel guilty at all!  We even got to go to a nightclub afterwards!  I felt like such an adult! 

We did sleep on the squeekiest bed EVER.  I was up everytime Michael rolled over.  I even woke up when I rolled over!  I’m not used to late nights and especially not used to waking up every hour.  I’m not complaining though, because the cabin was peaceful and quiet otherwise.  All in all, it was a good weekend. 

2 Comments

  1. malinthemiddle said,

    Sounds like you all had a great time. I bet next time you will wait to tell the boys until 10 min before you leave, and will bring some WD-40!

    I can so relate–weekend? what weekend? I seriously had a weekend back there???

  2. siren said,

    I’m always worried there won’t be a next time! You know, like the boys behaved so horribly that their grandparents have forbidden any overnight stays whatsoever.

    WD-40!!! Doh! I never even thought about that! I wonder if they have it in travel size?

Leave a Reply

