bootcamp update

April 24, 2007 at 1:07 pm (Bootcamp)

Bootcamp is AWESOME!  I actually look forward to it every single day.  Friday was the first day away from the bootcamp (no class on fridays) and I actually missed it. 

Let’s talk about my benefits from bootcamp:

  • Increased energy
  • More efficient digestion (so important for me!)
  • Cellulite is leaving my legs
  • Muscle definition
  • Energy exerted is good for my psyche

The list could go on and on.  The two most important benefits are listed first.  I don’t want to be gross, but the bathroom has never been so busy.  I like our drill sergeant – Tim.  He takes this bootcamp stuff and our efforts very seriously.  He doesn’t joke around – he’s all business.  I tried joking with him about his 80’s remix on the iPod (the song playing was “quest for fire” for goodness sakes!) but he clearly didn’t get that I was joking. 

I can usually tell when class is almost over because my body starts to resist the exercise.  It’s an hour long – give or take a few minutes.  It’s usually more than an hour because as I said, Tim takes this stuff seriously.  Just when you think you couldn’t possibly run up the stairs again, he says “run up the stairs 3 more times.”  On Thursday, we ran up a 45 degree incline hill 9 times.  9!  Run up, then walk down and repeat. 

Last night we did intervals.  (For those of you who don’t know, this means lots and lots of running.  Usually done in short bursts for as fast as you can go.)  We did them forward, we did them backward, from side to side, with tennis balls, with stairs, in short loops, long loops.  You name it – we did it. 

I won’t even mention the squats!  So many squats that it hurts just saying the word.

Progress:

I have lost the 4 pounds in water weight that I put on the first week (due to the wrong electrolite replacement drink).  I have lost 1 additional pound (of something – maybe water).  So that makes 5 pounds as of Day 6.  I don’t think I will count the first 4 because they weren’t there for my starting weight.  I do know that my legs have changed in shape and Michael has noticed a change.

The main thing is that I feel great!  I wasn’t sore after our 4-5 mile hike on Sunday, I’m not sore today AND I’m actually becoming a better runner!  YAY!

I want Michael to take the bootcamp but he laughingly suggested that maybe it wasn’t hard enough for him – that he was more interested in lifting weights.  I think that bootcamp is making me a better athlete (if you can call me that)  and that everyone benefits from it.  Tim pushes us, he has great expectations from every person and he instills those expectations in us so that we push ourselves and cheer for our camp mates.  How can you go wrong with that?

Leave a Reply

