Odds and Ends

June 7, 2007 at 11:27 am (Bored, Work)

Well, my colleague at work has gone back to curling and hairspraying her hair.  The change was short lived.  As long as she’s happy, I’m happy.

Brody has started combing his hair every morning.  He says it’s because Miss Nida told him that in order to look handsome, he must comb his hair everyday.  I think it’s because Isabella (his preschool crush) likes his hair combed.  For a 4 year old, he certainly is very mature.  He told his dad the other day that he needs to get sketchers.  I never thought to ask Brody if he knew what sketchers were. 

Evan, on the other hand, has reverted back to wanting a baba.  We were cleaning out the garage and he managed to find one (i’m amazed!).  He demands it every night before bed.  Then, once in bed, I must find his baby blanket as well.  The other night he asked Michael to carry him to bed like a baby.  I’m not exactly sure what is going on, but I know that I cannot make a big deal out of it – that’s the first rule of motherhood.  I might do a bit of research today, to try and figure out what is going on.  He said in clear words “dada, I want my baba with milk in it for night night.”  groan

My sciatica is getting better.  I think that we are finally figuring out what is causing all the pain and have started treatment.  Thankfully, I have signed up with physical therapy and that has helped me tons!  I have an acupuncture appointment this saturday, in hopes that it will take away some of the inflammation surrounding my sciatic nerve.  My last day for meds is tomorrow (thank goodness!) and I intend to celebrate!  With eating!  For some reason, the meds I’m on have suppressed my appetite.  I hear that is unusual for this type of medication – but I would rather have my appetite suppressed than increased!  I also have some exercises that I can do by myself – which is very helpful. 

I have started creating lists of activities that I might be able to participate in, since so many activities have been taken away from me.  So far, the only ones approved are horseshoes, curling and competitive knitting.  Since I live in California and it is summer – I doubt I’ll be able to find a curling game.  Wish me luck!

1 Comment

  1. malinthemiddle said,

    Curling might be very refreshing in the summer in Cali! lol That is a weird sport–I find it fascinating but I know it is not for me because it involves sweeping, and I get enough housework, thanks! That is GREAT news about your sciatica, I suffer with it too and it simply sux. I got relief (and tighter abs, lol) from PT too. Enjoy your food orgy!

Leave a Reply

