Blogging on a schedule

July 9, 2007 at 4:09 pm (Bored, Brody, Evan)

No matter how hard I try, I cannot keep a regular schedule with blogging.  I try and I try, to no avail.  It’s not for lack of trying, it’s for lack of topics.  Then I started writing things down that I wanted to remember to blog about – which worked until I lost my note pad with all my ideas.  Usually, I do my best thinking on the drive home.  Hard to write on a note pad while negotiating the busy California freeways. 

Somedays, I just cannot come up with anything to write about.  I wouldn’t mind using this space for more personal entries, like how my husband is ticking me off today vs. tomorrow or yesterday – but sometimes it’s just not fair.  I know my family reads this blog (and maybe his family) and it wouldn’t be fair of me to remove the blinders they have on regarding Michael.  In my parents eye, Michael can do no wrong.  It’s how Michael is.  He is Mr. Teflon (graduated up from Teflon Boy – a name used during his childhood).  Nothing sticks to him, I’ve come to accept it.  I’m not happy about it, but I can accept it.

There is only so much I can write about my children, my intent is to keep family and friends informed on our lives, not to bore them to tears about who pooped on the potty two times today.  Let’s just say it was NOT Evan.  He preferred his pants 3 times on Saturday.

There are the fights that occur, the screaming matches coupled with punches to the head, the wrestling and inevitable crying sessions.  And that’s just me and Michael – never mind the boys!  But those are only fun for so long. 

I can talk about how they cry for me when they are being disciplined by their father and how I fall for it everytime (well, not everytime – but most of the time). 

When Brody was little, he preferred his daddy over me.  Only when he was awake though, while sleeping – I was numero uno!  It destroyed me that he wanted to be cuddled and comforted by his dad.  Then, he started using it to his advantage.  If Daddy put him in time out, he’d cry and cry for me – I would rescue him from time out and love him – because he didn’t want me otherwise!  You can imagine how I felt when he went to his dad for love all the time.  IT killed me.  He should have just put a knife through my heart, it would have been easier to take. 

Evan, on the other hand, has always been my boy.  He always wants his momma (swoon).  I have been told on occasion that I treat him differently than Brody.  It may be true, but I love them equally! 

For two boys with the same genetic make up, they are very very different.  Evan is the eater.  Brody could live off one cheerio if he needed to.  Brody has the ideas, his mind is always going forward – he’s the boy that asked his dad for the keys to the truck because he needed to run to the store.  He’s 4 going on 20.  Evan sleeps with a baby blanket and has recently re-discovered his ba-ba.  Evan does things because his brudder does them, if Brody is shaking his booty, so is Evan. 

But I digress…. do you see how easy it is for me to slip back into writing about the boys?  Sometimes, they are all encompassing.

Now I forgot what my point was.   Ahh mommy memory, you tease me so.

3 Comments

  1. marlee said,

    I write down blog ideas too, then Hubs finds them and just rolls his eyes when I tell him what they are!

  2. malinthemiddle said,

    Sometimes I feel like no one wants to read about my boring life–I don’t even want to be here,sometimes, why would you? But seriously I love reading about you and your boys since mine are no longer little. I use a trick or two to give me topics–like Monday is for Memories, Tuesday for tips or tricks, Wordless Wednesday (post a photo) and Thursday 13, thirteen things about you. You get the idea. I don’t stick to it very closely but it helps when I’m tapped out of ideas.

  3. siren said,

    The whole idea of this blog was to keep my Canadian family aware of our shenanigans here in the US. But now that I’ve started writing, I don’t just want to write about my crazy kids! I want to expand and grow!

    I want to say “welcome Marlee!” thanks for commenting! Usually, it’s just me and Mal here! ha!

    I think I’m going to try a Thursday 13 this week! PS. I love reading about your life.

Leave a Reply

