Answers

August 12, 2007 at 5:52 pm (Bored)

Has anyone ever been to Yahoo Answers?  I don’t know the link, because I’m having a brain fart right now.  So, I’m at home and am supposed to be doing homework but I seriously don’t feel like it. I happened to stumble upon Yahoo Answers and ended up answering a couple hundred questions.  As each question got answered I felt more and more like Dear Abby, I answered tons of questions, giving my advice for dating and relationships.  Like I’m some expert or something.  I can give excellent advice to people about THEIR relationships but I’m not that great with my own relationship.

I had a bit of a breakthrough yesterday and seem to be seeing the world through a different set of eyes.  Hence, my desire to assist 14 year olds with their self esteem issues and reassure boys that they can ask a girl on a date.  Questions ranged from racial issues to “how do I look” questions. One girl actually posted a picture and asked guys to rate her.  Is this how we are raising our children?  I advised her (just as Dear Old Abby would) that she needed to figure out how she felt about herself and to take the photo down before something creepy happened.

It amazes me that teenagers believe the internet is a safe haven.  Away from parents prying eyes, they feel they can say anything.  On one hand, I think it’s a great forum to remain annonymous and speak your thoughts.  On the other hand, I wouldn’t want my teenage daughter posting pictures of herself asking for boys opinions.  I feel sorry for that young girl, but I especially feel sorry for her parents.  This is a girl who could really get herself into a LOT of trouble. 

It’s not my job to protect every girl in the world.  But for a few short hours, I had a great time answering questions and feeling like a teacher.

Leave a Reply

