Where I am from

September 12, 2007 at 3:48 pm (Memories)

When I was growing up, my family lived in two very small towns (around 100 people or so) until I was about 14. At that time, we moved to a big town (around 5000 people). I changed high schools in the middle of grade 10; you can imagine the trauma that I endured because of that.

I will admit that I loved living in a bigger town, but the memories and friendships that I made in those smaller towns are still with me to this day. Through the magic of facebook I have been able to reconnect with some of those people that shaped and influenced my younger years.  It’s been great! 

The one thing that I remember most about my childhood was the feeling that I was safe. I never felt as though I was in danger from anything. That’s what you get when you live in a one horse town. (Or one road town). There was an instance when I felt I was in danger… just once.  I think that is when my whole world changed.  I remember it like it was yesterday.

We used to live right across the street from our elementary school.  This school yard was the spot for tons of activities! We played football, baseball, tag, “house,” and hockey (in the winter) right across the street.  We rode our snow mobile in this yard, we played on the school equipment and swings. I remember Barry Rinas shaking the trees so the catepillars fell on me and Lorianne.  Ahh Barry Rinas… 

Last week, I found out that the woman who taught me to sew passed away.  I was a very proud member of 4-H and I went to her house on Saturdays. I was in the same grade as her son. She was a vibrant woman, very energetic but patient at the same time.  She helped me make an apron and a placemat (both of which I still own.) Mom reminded me that she also gave me a kitten. Thank you Mrs. Weidrick – for all of your knowledge and patience. I still love sewing.

I miss those days.  I hate living in a city and long for the country again. I want the same memories for my children that my brother and I had growing up. I want the boys to know the freedom we felt.  To feel safe and secure in their surroundings, to have the room to run and play. We used our imagination; we fixed things; we discovered rocks, leaves and trees; we formed relationships with our neighbours.

It was a great way to grow up.

2 Comments

  1. malinthemiddle said,

    It sounds like your little town was a safe little haven from the world. I lived in a small town, but all we did was eat too much because there was very little else to do. We even pigged out after TOPS (Take Off Pounds Sensibly.) lol

  2. siren said,

    Our small little town was in the northern part of Alberta. A lot of crap happened as well, but for the most part – it was just as I described. I feel VERY lucky!

Leave a Reply

