Oh I’m still here… just barely

October 30, 2007 at 3:48 pm (Bored, Brody, Evan)

In between working full time, school, and children – I managed to scrape up some free time to clean my craft room. I should have taken before pictures, but my mother would have been horrified!! I decided to leave that horror for another day. The craft room used to be an office, a close friend once referred to it as “the room that always has the closed door” because it was that messy and I was so ashamed of it! We have since changed it into a craft room, a place for me to store my craft things. I also store books and an extra computer in this room.  Needless to say, it gets a little messy. I spent the evening cleaning it up – it truly amazes me how much yarn I have collected over the past 4 months.

I have yarn for socks, left over wool from my felting projects, cotton yarn (probably for socks)… let’s just say I organized a LOT of yarn.

I did something that is totally NOT me. I let the boys have some of my precious paper. I am a bit of a paper whore – I’ll admit it. I have always loved paper. I remember when I was little, my mom would bring home outdated insurance forms and I used to LOVE playing with the forms. I used to type on them and hand them out to my brother when we played school. I was always the teacher! She’d even bring home carbon paper – that was awesome!

Anyway, last night I let the boys create with my precious paper. I really do love them more than the paper, but I tend to be really particular with my things. Ask anyone. I’ve always taken care of my things (until they didn’t mean anything to me) and I don’t like people touching my stuff. Last night, I let the boys get their own paper out of the protective holders! Not only that, but I wasn’t stressed out about it at all!

Evan made this big gooey paper collage, it had so much Elmer’s Glue on it, that the glue wasn’t even dry this morning. Brody used foam letters to spell words, he is working really hard at writing. This morning, I went to retrieve Evan’s collage from the table and thanked my lucky stars that I had put down a protective cover – the paper was glued down tight!  Brody called Evan’s work of art a big mess – but I told Evan it was beautiful. To which he replied “thank you momma.” Then advised me to carry the paper with two hands. Good advice.

I’m going to try to get better at updating this blog – it seems that lately I’ve had writer’s block.

1 Comment

  1. juanita said,

    It’s so nice to see you sharing your ‘stuff’. As your mommy I know this was a big hurdle for you to overcome, seeing that you got that fetish from me. I love to see your happy childhood times coming out in print. It makes my heart glow.

Leave a Reply

