Thanksgiving Fiasco

November 27, 2007 at 11:02 am (Family, Holidays)

We had everyone over to our house for Thanksgiving. It’s always been Michael’s dream to host the holidays – he is a social butterfly. I, on the other hand, like to remain inside a deep dark cavern watching old movies.

I agreed to host (and cook for) Thanksgiving because it means so much to him. As we all know, I dislike the holidays with a passion – plus, Thanksgiving for me was in October. Anyway, we had 22 people over. If you’ve seen my house, you are probably wondering where we put them all. Thankfully, it was about 75 that day – so people gathered on the deck. This is always stressful, because I don’t do well with crowds – especially at my house.

Michael’s brother dropped off a turkey earlier in the week. It was about 25 lbs or so. I let it thaw, brined it, season it, stuffed it and stuck it in the oven. Five and a half hours later – the damn thing still wasn’t cooked. Apparently, you aren’t supposed to stuff a turkey that big. Who knew? This was my first turkey and the gravy sucked! I was so disappointed with the way the food turned out. All the side dishes burned because they were on the BBQ keeping warm and not one person (including me) remembered to check on them. The dessert was good though!

 Apparently, I was the only one who was stressing about the turkey not cooking. No one else really cared. Next year, we’re having tri-tip and baked potatoes. That’s IF I agree to another thanksgiving.

Bah humbug.

Leave a Reply

