I’m trying…

January 9, 2008 at 2:04 pm (Work)

I try not to complain about work on my blog. It’s not for fear that I’ll be fired or that I’m afraid of someone from work reading – I just don’t think it’s right. I prefer to complain to my teammate at work, we can comiserate and then eat chocolate.

Work is work. I don’t live to work and if I had my choice, I would not work. I would live in the mountains making sure the wood pile is adequate for the winter. I would have loved to stay home and take care of my boys but I just don’t have the patience.  So how can I justify being a lady who lunches when I need an income to help support the family?

I happen to work for a great company. It’s a large healthcare company so my medical expenses every month are super cheap. We have a great benefits package, I have plenty of time off, and my job is fairly easy. However, I am bored stiff. I have stuff to do, it keeps me busy all day – but I am not being challenged. Now it’s at the point that I dread coming in here.  I have a great work partner, she and I laugh the day away. The office is quiet (except for my iPod) and I have a lot of time to sit and contemplate life.

I’m looking for a challenge over here people! Good god! I am a thinking, an idea person – you can’t lock me in a cubicle and give me 6 months worth of filing to do and expect me to be happy! There is only so much babble a girl can play! Of course, I have my daily blogs that I read – but even those have become boring. I equate it to wanting something to eat, but you don’t know what that is… then you get so hungry that you eat just anything… but it wasn’t what you wanted. That’s how I feel right now.

I am not going to leave the company, I’ve applied for other positions in other areas, and I guess I’ll continue whining until something changes! Or I die of old age in a meaningless job with no direction.

Leave a Reply

