Winter Break

January 15, 2008 at 2:43 pm (School)

The winter break for school is now over and I’m back to being crazy busy! I was getting used to not having anything to do except knit. Now, I’ve got three chapters to read and homework to post – TONIGHT. Blech. Good bye kids, hope you remember what mommy looks like. She loves you!!!!

My poor husband. He has been so supportive of me attending school, supportive of the household, supportive of the laundry (sort of). I just don’t know if I can do this. I know I have to continue, because it’s important to me. But I’m wondering how school is affecting my children.

The boys don’t understand the concept of homework. They don’t know how to concentrate on anything, they don’t understand why mommy has the door locked. They can barely keep quiet in a movie theatre – never mind at home. I don’t want them thinking their mommy isn’t available for them whenever they need her.

I’m wondering how these next nine weeks will go. From what I’ve seen so far, these courses are going to kick my butt. The facilitators are very serious (both men by the way) and seem like they are expecting greatness from us. Of course, I can deliver – but at what cost?  Will my children remember me? At least, if it were summer, I could do homework outside while they play. It’s pretty difficult in the winter. Mind you, I’ve heard it’s going to be about 70 degrees on Friday.  Speaking of Friday, I will be doing my homework from the lovely Lake Tahoe (or vicinity) this weekend. Jealous?  You totally should be!

2 Comments

  1. Christina said,

    Ugh it is going to suck! That I can promise you but you know what else? You will be so proud of yourself for sticking with it. Your kids will adapt and your husband of all people can shake it off. As the shoe is on the other foot around here I know he will be just fine. You may find more dust bunnies than your comfortable with but they can wait. Try to get your husband to do fun stuff with them, take them to the library or to the Y to go swimming- kids LOVE that in the winter time. Have him make it his job to keep them busy.
    Hang in there- I know you can do it!

  2. Melodie said,

    Thank you Christina! You are just the best! I appreciate this sooo much!

Leave a Reply

