egads

January 16, 2008 at 3:29 pm (Blog 365, Bored)

Let me tell you, coming up with a post when you don’t really have anything to say is painful. So I shall tell you all about my fabulous purchase!

We are going to a friend’s cabin this weekend. That cabin happens to be located in an area with snow… Californians call it “going to the snow.” So we are going to the snow this weekend. Remember all the fun you had in the snow when you were a kid (depending on where you grew up)? Well, I am determined to enjoy the snow that much this weekend!

I remember that my brother and I would get Kra-zee carpets and tie them to the back of a ski-doo. Was this how I broke his nose? I can’t remember if it was a tobaggon or a kra-zee carpet. Anyhooo… we used to have a blast! You can’t buy Kra-zee carpets down here, so I bought them torpedos!

These things are amazing! They have handles! Good handles! They have a very slippery surface on the bottom and I was assured that my boys (and possibly mommy or daddy) would be able to hurtle down the hill at breakneck speeds! Assured that we would pass land speed records! It was hinted at that we might even suffer windburn from travelling so fast!  They are light too, I didn’t want to have to lug the damn tobaggen (tobaggon? tobaggan?) up the hill – because everyone knows when kids go sledding the adult gets roped into pulling the “sled” back up the hill 8 million times.

I bought new snow boots. I can’t say enough about the boots. They have a zipper up the back because I didn’t want to have to tie laces with mittens on (i was using my brain). They are ultra light too! I remember the old days (uh-oh here we go) when the boots weighed about a million pounds (no exaggeration) and didn’t do what they were supposed to do. No winter grip, no insulation, just big and clunky. I could probably tap dance in these boots.

I shouldn’t have any problem keeping warm. I am Canadian for goodness sakes! I’ve been layering on my winter fat for 8 months now! My good sense has prevailed!

Honestly, I am really looking forward to this weekend. We will be celebrating Evan’s birthday at the snow – celebrating with the pound cake we are all addicted to. Not sure what we are getting our little Buggy – but he’s not too picky. If I was a better mother I’d have made him socks or something. Bah… so over rated!!

Leave a Reply

