Hibernation

January 25, 2008 at 9:43 am (Blog 365, Bored, Melodie)

We are coming close to the time of the year when most Canadians start their hibernation. You will see less people out at night, more people wrapped in blankets by a fire. You will also notice a slight weight gain of about 5 – 7 lbs. Children will sleep longer and snack more during the day. Mommy’s and Daddy’s everywhere are tucking their little ones in early and heading off to bed by 9:00 pm. It’s great.

I had not really noticed this pattern while I was in Canada, but I notice it now that I’m away. It’s something you really have to think about, meaning it’s not obvious. It was obvious to me that energy levels usually died down around January / February – but everyone was doing it.

I realized last night that I am in hibernation mode. I come home from work and head straight to my bedroom. Our bedroom has become quite cozy in the past few months. Against all advice we added a TV.  I could not be more happy about this decision! I no longer have to watch The Speed network, the hunting network, the men’s channel or cartoons. It’s awesome! I can watch Martha Stewart, or cooking, or home decorating – all while dressed in my pjammies and wrapped in my cozy blankets.

I had big plans for this month. I was going to organize the house, get rid of piles and piles of paper, finish all the laundry completely (and I mean completely), organize the toys in the boys room, clean the house from top to bottom… want to guess at what I’ve done so far? Ya, I didn’t think so.

I have great intentions! I have tons of energy during the day (while I’m at work)! I have the tools needed to complete these tasks. I just can’t seem to get my butt in gear. I’m hibernating! I don’t mind so much… I have actually stopped feeling guilty about laying in bed when there is laundry to do. I had to physically stop myself from getting up, allowing myself to remain comfy and cozy without any guilt. For the first time since I became a mom, I was completely and utterly lazy. It was awesome!

Leave a comment