HALT!

February 26, 2008 at 1:21 pm (Work)

So this lady had a seizure at work yesterday. It was probably one of the scariest things I have ever witnessed in my entire life. Of course I was curious about what one should do when someone is having a seizure. Thanks to Epilepsy.com I was able to print out this awesome sheet to hang up in my work area.

Unfortunately for the woman I helped yesterday, I did almost everything wrong. Let’s go over it, shall we? It’s very important information.

1. Stay Calm. I completely failed. I was calm with the victim – but I was a maniac with the surrounding on-lookers. I yelled at people to call others. Not yelled, screamed hysterically would be more accurate.

2. Prevent injury by moving any nearby objects. Failed. The only thing I moved was the victim.

3. Pay attention to the length of the seizure. Pay attention? Are they kidding? Have they ever seen a person having a seizure? GAWD

4. Make the person as comfortable as possible. Failed. I took the advice of another person that was completely against my gut instinct. It’s okay, my gut got me back – I was sick the rest of the day.

5. Keep onlookers away. Fail. Are they serious? It was a circus in this office.

6. Do not hold the person down. Huzzah! Pass!

7. Do not put anything in the person’s mouth. Pass again!

8. do not give the person water, pills or food until the person is fully alert. Pass! Yesssss

9. If the seizure continues for longer than five minutes, call 911. We called 911, but I would have failed because time moves differently when you are in crisis mode. It seemed like the whole event took FOREVER.

10. Be sensitive and supportive and ask others to do the same. Pass! I did the best I could.

These are important facts to note. Had I had this list in front of me, I would have felt so much better. I could not have changed what was happening, but I could have been better prepared for the situation. I also wouldn’t have had the adrenaline sweaty funky arm smell for the rest of the day either.

I was the person that found her. I received a phone call from a co-worker in another facility saying they were on a conference call, but this person wasn’t responding. I ran over to check out the situation and found her lying over her chair backwards with her head on the floor. She ended up biting right through her lip but we have heard that she is going home today and is feeling much better.

Leave a Reply

