Ug!

March 14, 2008 at 11:16 am (Melodie, Work)

My life has been crazy this week! I haven’t blogged in so long, I almost forgot the password to get in here! In between trying to complete TWO final papers for school, I started a new job right when the time was changing. DO NOT DO THIS! Not only did I have to adjust my wake up time, I had to adjust the boys wake up time. There we all were, losing 1 hour of sleep due to the time change and another hour of sleep due to Mommy’s new job. My kids were exhausted and unmanageable this week!

It is DAY 5 of the new routine and we made it out of the house by 7:07 am. Now… I need to be at the train station to catch the 7:21 train – the only day I accomplished this was on Monday. I have not arrived on time to work since. Fortunately, it’s not really mattering right now – so that is good. I have very high hopes for next week – especially because the boys are very excited to be riding with mommy in the car.

As I said earlier, I have to finish two final projects for school this weekend. Both are due on Sunday – and I’ve neglected and procrastinated both projects. I was reading through the Appendix last night and it turns out I need to conduct an interview with a leader in my community!  OMG!!  Who could I possibly interview over the weekend??  Picture me smashing my head into the wall repeatedly and vowing NEVER NEVER to put off a final project again.

OK, so the new job is AWESOME! My boss is really great and he’s very understanding. We get along very well – which is great! I have a very busy workload, I am never without something to do. Unfortunately, because of my busy meeting schedule all week, I haven’t been able to clean out my new desk. It was a disaster! There was a whole folder dedicated to annual reports – for the past 14 years.  I’m not sure when anyone would EVER need these. I can’t even imagine the head of our company needing these reports. I threw out 3 large bins full of paper. Handwritten notes from 2004, task lists starting in 2004 till the day she left, empty boxes, shipping receipts from the decade prior… sigh  I know my mom is totally jealous!! Of course I act like I hate doing stuff like this – I act like it’s the worst job in the world. Secretly, I love it. For me, throwing paper OUT ranks right up there with buying office supplies (I’m a maniac for office supplies).

I’m still not sure what my complete function will be in my new role – I had a talk with my director and he said “you’ll have to develop it as you go along.” Which is so familiar, because that is exactly what I did in my past two positions.  I am having a hard time getting used to how quiet it is on my floor. While at the hospital, the noise was never-ending. I can hear a pin drop! In fact, while I was cleaning out the storage closet (for office supplies) I found an electric stapler. I LOVE the extravagance of not having to staple my own papers. I plugged that bad boy in and tested it – I then realized why it was in the storage closet. The long, high pitched squeal that resonated from my cubicle had people opening their doors to see if the fire alarm was going off.

All in all, it has been a good week. I am anxious to be finished my two projects for school. I have been less than impressed with these classes. Don’t get me wrong, I’m still ace’ing them – I just don’t like them.  I’m starting to realize that maybe I should switch my major…

Leave a Reply

