School

March 19, 2008 at 1:11 pm (School)

I only have 1 class for this session of school. What am I supposed to do with all my free time now? ha! I’m used to having two classes – homework due almost every single night. With only one class, my assignments are scarce. I might have time to actually knit! or sew! or shop! I might even be able to visit friends! My children won’t get upset with me over having to do homework!

Ahhh… the possibilities!

The facilitator from my business class was a busy beaver and graded my final project already. Usually, marks are given the Monday after the last day of class – but my marks were up yesterday. I got an A- in the class. When I was preparing my final presentation I mentioned to Michael that I was going to get comments like “the presentation needs more visual aids” and “I expected more pizazz!!” I was right! My problem is, when I do a powerpoint presentation – I make it as professional as possible. Although I am an expert in powerpoint, jazzing presentations up with visual aids and clip art just feels wrong. I had visual aids, I had a pie chart and a blinking sheep for goodness sakes! Did he not see the blinking sheep on every single page? Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining – I just feel that his comments were stupid – and he’s stupid – and my presentation was stupid – and school is stupid. This was a business presentation – not a slide show of pictures from my trip to Niagara Falls (sidenote: I’ve never been to Niagara Falls… but you get the point). Isn’t it my choice to add clip art? gah! I missed 10 points on the final project and I think it’s because my presentation wasn’t jazzy enough. Where does one draw the line???  Will I be the president of some company some day and demand my assistant “jazz” up a business presentation?  heck no people! heck no.

1 Comment

  1. Bev said,

    Before law school, I had a boss who often insisted I update my technical reports (ie, server utilization statistics) so that they were in color. I probably could have made up all the numbers, as long as the charts illustrating them were bright and cheery.

Leave a Reply

