Finally updating!

April 12, 2008 at 11:58 am (Bored, Family, Melodie, Weekend)

Caution: This is a very long post because I have not updated in a few weeks. I will cover how tired and grumpy I am, how horrible my children have been behaving, boys, pregnancy (not mine) and the bookstore. Oh and books too…

It seems like forever since I’ve updated my blog. I used to update at work, it was easy and I wasn’t actually doing a whole lot of work. At my new job, I’m busy for 8 hours a day (which is the whole day). It’s challenging and my boss treats me very well. He even allowed me to go home on Friday at 2:00 and paid me until 5:00!!  SWEET!

We had a huge 2-day off-site this week and I still have not recovered from working 12 hours of overtime.  Am I that old? GOD! I had to get up so early, was really stressed out about the meeting and couldn’t sleep, then had to factor in homework time. It pushed me to my limits. I am definitely an “8 hours of sleep per night” kind of girl – I didn’t even get that much.

I love my children, but by Thursday I told them if they dared to wake me up in the middle of the night to tell me they had to pee – they would be sleeping outside. The boys are old enough to go to the bathroom by themselves, I’m not sure what made them believe I needed to be aware of it. I woke up on Thursday morning (after being told 3 different times that Evan was going to the bathroom) with the said child sleeping on my legs. Last night was the first night (in a long time) that I wasn’t woken up during the night. Needless to say, I am a little more than grumpy today.

I finished reading “Gone with the wind” and really cannot understand all the hub-ub (sp?) with this book. Maybe it’s just me and how I’m feeling right now – but I really did not enjoy the book. There were parts that really made me blush (some of the language was quite colorful when referring to people of color – any color) and parts of the book (especially describing the war, etc.) that dragged on and on. We bought the movie last weekend because it won 10 academy awards – I’m hoping the movie is better. Plus, I wasn’t really happy with the ending. I also doubt that I will read it again.

I just picked up “Bonk” and “Stiff” by Mary Roach. I remember hearing about Stiff a while ago, but lost the name of the author and title of the book (just try finding a book without those two items) and Bonk just came out. I’m excited to read them both and started Stiff this morning. The sub-title of the book is “The curious lives of human cadavers.” Enticing!  Michael said that he didn’t think it would be a book that would interest him – but I’m excited to read it! I doubt it will be a “read during lunch” kind of book because I hear it’s quite gross. The sub-title of Bonk is “the curious coupling of science and sex.” Also supposed to be quite hilarious.

Spring has officially sprung here – it’s lovely and warm today with new flowers sprouting up. The thermometer says 84.6 right now… it’s delicious! I have laundry piles up to my armpits, dirty dishes everywhere, dirty clothes on the floor  – all I want to do is be outside laying on the hammock! I seriously need to wake up – my eyes are even tired!

We bought Brody a new watch – I am now getting time updates every 3-5 minutes. I suppose it’s good – because now I don’t need to wear a watch! I The entire trip to the bookstore was filled with time updates. Once we arrived at the store I made sure to tell the boys my expectations of their behavior and what I expected out of the trip. I find telling them this at the beginning usually saves me from disciplining or threatening to discipline once inside the store. Even though I took the extra time to talk to the boys about what they needed to do – they still acted like total jackasses (of course I say this with love). Sidenote: The bookstore is my own personal heaven. I love the smell of the new books, I love how orderly it is. My 4 and 5 year old boys literally tore it apart. While we were there, my boys proceeded to scream, yell, run, whine, cry, hit, throw AND disobey me at every corner. I have crossed the bookstore off my list of “acceptable places to take the maniacs.”

What is it with 5 year olds anyway? Brody thinks he knows everything. He is so condescending, smart mouthed, impatient, and a real jackass sometimes. Then, I’ll turn around and he’s loving, sweet, adorable, cuddly and helpful! All within a 5 minute period! He’ll run to get me something, smack his brother on the head, help his dad reach up high, tell a “butt” joke, contradict me, back talk to his brother and then try to remember what he was doing in the first place. He’ll remember what he was doing, get that item, give it to me (pausing to watch tv) and then say “you’re welcome” when I’ve thanked him. I can barely keep up to the different layers and levels of this kid.

Anyway, we had a horrible time at the bookstore – I know it’s because I’m tired and have little patience for the fighting and screaming that is typical of boys. But they were awful! Just this morning, I was reading an article that said people today are less tolerant of physical aggression and we tend to break up scuffles between boys too soon. I might experiment with this theory – but today is not the day for that. Friends of ours visited a few months ago and Miss T asked me how I put up with the physical-ness of the boys. How could I just let them wrestle all of the time? I giggled because they seriously wrestle ALL of the time – but what she was witnessing wasn’t even close to how physical they can be. Something as simple as reading a book or watching TV can turn into the biggest wrestling event of the week! My answer to Miss T was “well, you just get used to it.” Which is the honest to goodness truth.

I really do feel that people today are so concerned with offending other people that we inhibit our boys and turn them into people who cannot resolve their own conflicts.

While at the bookstore, I spoke with one of my oldest friends, she’s very pregnant and I found out she is scheduled to give birth via c-section on Tuesday because the baby is enormous! The doctor estimated the baby weighs about 9lbs 7ozs!!  A big boy! Other friends had a baby boy last month and another set of friends are having a baby boy in a few months. Everyone is having baby boys! Anyway, she was off to get her car cleaned and detailed so they could install the car seat. Strangely enough, I spent a good portion of the morning cleaning starburst wrappers and french fries out of our car seats! I told her to enjoy the detailing – because that’s the last time that car will be clean for the next couple of years! I’m sure she wasn’t laughing!

Michael is off at some shotgun dude’s show… he tried to entice me into joining him; to which I responded “uh.. I’m a girl.” Duh. I guess this guy does some amazing things with a shot gun like continuously shooting it while reloading. (?!?!?!?) I don’t like guns a whole lot and I am in no mood for loud noises. Plus… I’m a girl n’stuff… I’d rather spend my free time comparing lip glosses or reading martha stewart.

1 Comment

  1. Christina said,

    Whoa! Okay, I have always wanted two boys. Apparently I am crazy?
    Spring WAS here last week, now its cold as hell again 😦 I would settle for warm and rain over this wind that is making the wind chill in the 30’s- last week was in the 70’s. Such a shock to the system.
    anway- im glad you took time to tell “us” your okay! Hope you get some rest soon.

Leave a Reply

