Take MY kids to work? Ooooh no

April 24, 2008 at 8:35 pm (Uncategorized)

So this is the new format for my posts since this is the only sized font that I can read now.

 

Today was take your pint sized ball of energy to work day. I took both of my pint sized balls of energy to work – because I am krazee. Actually I am only half krazee because Michael came with me. We all took the train this morning and the boys spent the first hour with me at the office. Never before, have my two boys behaved so well as they did on that morning train. Brody dressed for the occasion, in a suit and tie. Evan looked like he just rolled out of bed, hair was blue and sticky-uppy in the back, boogies in his nose, orange felt marker on his arms and legs. I commented to Michael that this is a look into their college years. Brody will be ultra organized, pre-packing his bag and making his lunch the night before. He’ll dress in clothes freshly pressed and will consider how he smells. Evan will roll out of bed 5 minutes before class, tuck a pen behind his ear and hope the prof doesn’t notice him.

 

The boys were well behaved, but I think an hour in the office was a little too much for them to handle. You could tell they were done by the way they were running up and down the main hallway in the office, screaming their heads off and repeatedly pushing the button that controls the door to the handicapped bathroom. They also wondered why they weren’t allowed to eat all the candy off of other people’s desk. Hmm…

My boss was a very good sport – bringing in treats like coloring books, fruit loops (to-go!) and fruit snacks.

 

I (well – not me personally) managed to impress the boys with the amazing view from my building. It just so happens that I work across the street from a lake and a very large green park. I am also on one of the higher floors – making the view spectacular.

 

The boys were reluctant to leave me today. Was it my winning charm and personality? I wondered what they thought I did all day. I work in a cubicle, in an office – a quiet office – how much fun could I have? Jams in the photo copier aren’t fun for very long. I gave them no impression of hi-jinx or hilarity. The boys heard no laughing – there was no rough-housing or running around (unless you count them) – not even faint music coming from a radio. What kind of kid would want to spend an entire day in a place like that? Maybe the boy in the suit and tie – but the blue haired kid would have stolen all the cookies and donuts from my co-workers and collapse in a sugar induced coma.

 

The fact of the matter is all kids believe that adults have more fun when they aren’t around (which is true, but I’ll never admit to saying that). I bet the boys thought the shenanigans would start the minute they left!  Or (god forbid) that I actually had fun at work? Unless they considered clearing jams from the photocopier and replacing toner cartridges in two printers fun… well then, I was having more fun than I knew what to do with!

1 Comment

  1. Sara said,

    Evan sounds like Michael in high school, and I mean that in the nicest possible way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

