At home

April 29, 2008 at 8:32 pm (Melodie)

I broke down and went to the urgent care clinic on Monday evening. I could take the pressure in my ear, I could take not being able to hear my children scream at each from the top of their lungs… but when that shooting, stabbing knife-like pain started… well that’s when i drew the line. I arrived at the clinic at about 7:30 – I got checked in at 7:48. There were 2 people in front of me. I can’t wait to return to work and call the man in charge of the clinic. Eighteen minutes!!! 

What I discovered yesterday is that the people using the urgent care clinic really don’t understand the concept of urgent. A couple with two children were in line because the youngest member of their family broke out in a rash. uh… I don’t think that is urgent. Maybe it’s just me, but call the advice nurse, give him a little benedryl – send him to bed. He didn’t have a fever but his older brother did manage to wear on the nerves of the rest of us in the clinic. Not only that, but the older brother (all 2 1/2 years of him) managed to touch everything within that clinic – if he didn’t have a fever yesterday, I am quite certain he’s got one today. I’m not saying they shouldn’t have been there… but they shouldn’t have been there.

A guy sprained his ankle. Urgent care? hmmm… I sprained my ankle, I went home and put ice on it. I had it wrapped the next day by a doctor at a regularly scheduled appointment. This man seemed like he was the type of guy who liked drama and attention. Of course, I am totally assuming that he didn’t want to work the next day and needed the doctor note.

A young mother came in because her daughter had stuffed a button up her nose. I’ve been there – Brody stuffed a rubber button from a key chain up his nose. I was so scared. Probably an urgent care need. Ok ok… I’ll stop being such a bitch about it – but I’m totally blaming it on the constant ringing and sharp stabbing pain in my ear.

I thought I had a sinus infection, but I found out that I have the worst adult ear infection the doctor had ever seen. Professionally, it is called otitis media (fancy!) – and my case is so severe that my middle ear is completely swollen, my eustacian tube has failed completely and I have a constant (I’m not kidding – it is non-stop) ringing in my ear. I have a newfound respect for ears. I’ve always loved my ears, I love how sensitive they are. I performed tribal teenage rituals on them by piercing them many many times. I love how they let me hear. I never realized how I take hearing for granted. I think back with shame on all the Helen Keller jokes my brother and I told when we were young. Anyhoo…

Michael says that my strongest sense is my sense of hearing. I attach memories to songs (or uhhh songs to memories) and when I meditate (to go to a good place) I hear the waves of the beach first. He’ll actually see the beach first. So you can imagine the constant ringing in my ear is distracting. I’m supposed to be doing homework right now – but I can’t concentrate on anything I need to read. I’m just going to have to make shit up. It’s okay – I’ve done it before. Don’t be scared for my gpa yo.

I have been ordered to stay home and “lie low.” I can lie low. I took two naps today – jealous? THAT is laying low! I also found out that it could take up to 3 months for the fluid to drain out of my ear. Let’s stop and think about that for a second. Are they kidding???  A couple of months before the ringing stops??? I’ll be in the psych ward before long. My next two classes are basic math (FRACTIONS people!) and financial something or other. What? Don’t laugh at me, I can’t even tell you the current class I’m in. I know it’s BEH225 – but the actual name? hmph. Anyway, how am I supposed to do math with ringing in my ear??  I can barely do math on a good day.

Soooo… we won’t talk about the “stuff” that is coming out of my ear. Let’s just say there is a lot of it. I will not be returning to work until I can walk into the building WITHOUT tissue hanging out of my ear. I’m already such a classy broad – I might as well add white trash to the mix too. Plus, I can’t smell – but I think if I asked someone… ok, I’m stopping right there

In the meantime, I will stay at home, enjoying naps and soft food (I have some “referral pain” down my jaw). I am probably going to work from home for the rest of the week because I cannot sport this sexy tissue hanging out of my ear anywhere else!

 

Leave a Reply

