We’re on a McCation!

June 14, 2008 at 9:51 am (Family)

Evan calls a vacation – a ‘cation. We are on our way up to the big bustling town of Arnold for the weekend. This is the town that we visit in the winter when we “go to the snow.” For a girl from Canada who couldn’t get away from the snow for 8 months out of the year, it sounds funny to say “go to the snow.” Like there’s a choice. Arnold is a neat town with pretty scenery, hiking close by, antique shops and a fantastic yarn shop. While on our way, we stopped at McDonalds for a McFlurry. I happen to be addicted to the oreo mcflurry and although I’ve eaten my weight in Texas Fries and Chips n’ Salsa from Chili’s – I figured we could all do with a little dessert.

 

While in line, Michael and I began our mctalk.  He’s got the funniest sense of humour and it comes in stages. I can make him laugh all the time. Usually, I’ll start the funny talk and he’ll be inspired to join in. err…. Mcjoin in.  After mctalking about mcdonalds, we started on the smurfs. Like the f-bomb – smurf is a versatile word. Adjective, noun, verb – it does it all. Michael started with the smurf dirty talk – like “Smurfette is getting smurfed out by the old smurf tree.” Stuff like that. As an adult, a female adult, I’m not supposed to laugh at that – but I do. And it’s something that I’ll laugh about for days to come. I loved the smurfs when I was growing up.  That love has died over the years, I’m sure my current feelings for the smurfs resemble my mom and dad’s feelings when they had to deal with me watching it.  But Jimmy Neutron – well now we’re talking.

 

Growing up, we didn’t have a lot of options for cartoons. Scratch that – I didn’t have a lot of options for cartoons. My brother watched spiderman, transformers, and Batman. I wasn’t in to those cartoons and I still don’t like them. I view cartoons the same way I view movies or tv shows – it better entertain me or I’m turning it off. I want to laugh. I don’t want to keep up with complex story lines. I don’t want to see cartoon characters fighting, I don’t want to have to think – it’s a freakin cartoon! I’m pretty easy to please – make me laugh. Fortunately for me, I married a guy who can make me laugh and encourages my humour. I’m told this will be handy in our “later” years when we aren’t interested in kissing and junk – at least we’ll have laughter. And McFlurries.

1 Comment

  1. Bev said,

    Pssh, don’t worry about the “later” years:

    http://www.slate.com/id/2192178/

    What is it about smurfs that makes the thought of them getting nasty so damn funny….

Leave a Reply

