Back at home… Safe and Sound

August 25, 2008 at 9:05 am (Brody, Evan, Family, Melodie)

I flew home on Saturday so that I could pick the boys up. I said to Michael that I might have to re-learn being a mommy… but I was wrong. It came right back to me – like riding a bike! As I was leaving customs, the boys could see me in between the doors opening and closing – I could hear them scream “momma!” Then the doors would close. Then “momma!” It was hilarious! I don’t think I’ve ever been so happy to see anyone in my entire life. Brody insisted upon pushing all of my luggage, I think he wanted to show off. After arriving at my parents house, the boys became clingy, whiney, and absolute horrors! Right back to normal, saving all their crap for mommy!

They’ve calmed down a little since then and actually slept by themselves last night.

The weekend was full of family members, home-cooked meals, close friends and homework. My brother is coming today and bringing my neice and nephew; I’m hoping to get some good pictures of all four kids together. I don’t have my hopes up because when the four of them get together, they like to be as silly as possible.

In all of the heartache that Michael and I went through this summer, I believe every ounce was worth it. To see the relationships my kids have created with my parents, my brother, my grandparents, my aunts and uncles, pretty much everyone – is just awesome. When you make a decision to move away from your family, it is usually for a certain reason. For selfish reasons, you don’t think that the distance will affect your family or your children. It does. It’s important that these family connections continue through the generations. It’s important that my kids know my family and get an understanding of what it feels like to be Canadian. Will we do it again? Sure. Will my parents? That’s up for a vote.

1 Comment

  1. Christina said,

    You are all so very lucky! One to have parents who want this time with the boys- two, to have the time with Michael on your own! I’d give quite a large sum for just 24 hours of the way we were… Of course by our 4 I’d be missing the boy, but so what.

    Glad you are enjoying your visit! Talk soon 😉

Leave a Reply

