Inauguration

January 20, 2009 at 5:14 pm (Melodie)

Alright, so I’m totally in inaugural heaven right now. I’m not a political person at all – in fact, I think that really irritates some people. It’s just not in my nature to care. I don’t have any control over politics or decisions other people make – and if something really upsets me I just deal.

Anyway, yesterday, in preparation for the inauguration our company sent out an email stating folks could gather and watch the ceremony in a large conference room. A friend and I decided that we would go to the local greasy spoon and watch it there while having breakfast. He’s so smart! I had lovely tea, he had grits (he’s southern) and a grilled egg and cheese. It was peaceful, we got seats, and had food!

The ceremony was not what I would have expected. I don’t recall seeing a lot of these “swearing” in ceremonies in my lifetime, but Aretha Franklin and Yo-Yo-Ma? Awesome! I think Obama is amazing and I was in awe of his ability to speak clearly on a day that must have been so emotional for him. I think he’s my new hero.

1 Comment

  1. Bev said,

    I read that they went to 10 balls last night. Ten balls? How do you do that? And then get up the next morning and be President?

Leave a Reply

