New dishes

April 15, 2009 at 9:27 pm (Bored, House)

Hi, um yeah, so I got new dishes. It took me 5 months to find dishes. I sort of didn’t want to go with plain white – although every fiber of my being told me to choose something plain and white. I had a few criteria… well, one really… and it came from my mom. The plates couldn’t weigh 800 thousand million pounds. I thought I found a set a few months ago and ended up having to call my mom to say “can I really eat off of square plates?” The answer was no… I’m a traditionalist, a purist if you will, about my dishes.

My camera had no battery power!

My camera had no battery power!

That up there is the salad plate. The dinner plates look similar except there is less white pattern. The picture is dark because my camera had no extra battery power for the flash (really, who needs a flash anyway?). The best part, other than they are pretty and are NOT plain and white, is they fit in my cupboards. YAY.

And here are the bowls… they are sort of weird shaped but after 5 months of extensive looking, I finally had to say to myself “just go with it.” Because seriously… I needed dishes already!

They love each other! Look at them kiss! MWAH

They love each other! Look at them kiss! MWAH

I now have to scour the globe looking for 4 more salad plates and 4 more dinner plates, hopefully in the white pattern. I just want to give a shout out to the Ross store in (the town where I live), someone in the sticker control department thought it best to use brand new price tag stickers with super duper batman adhesive (how do you think he keeps the suit on?) to adhere the tags to the dishes. I would LOVE to meet the brainiac who suggested THAT at the meeting!  I suspect the residue (glue) will be completely off in about 1000 washings (give or take).

1 Comment

  1. Bev said,

    Peanut butter. For the stickiness residue, I mean. Spread it on and leave it for a bit and then wipe it off. Doesn’t always work, but worth a try…

    Very pretty! I like them. I have totally plain white everything, and now I’m a little jealous….

Leave a Reply

