Hello 2010!!

December 31, 2009 at 1:01 pm (Holidays, Melodie)

I don’t know about you, but I am so done with 2009. I am ready for a fresh start! A new year! It’s time to clean out the closet and start again. I love starting a new year, you have so many hopes, dreams and goals.

2009 was not the best year I’ve ever had. I don’t think it was the worst either. I believe 1994 was the worst year, I lost both grandfathers that year.

Let’s sum up the year:

  • Brody started the first grade!
  • Evan started kindergarten!
  • I did an amazing amount of soul searching and really discovered who I am and what I want in life
  • I started a great job
  • I finished my Associate’s Degree (I have the diploma to prove it)
  • I branched out of myself (and my introvertedness and social awkwardness) and met some amazing new friends
  • I stopped lying; to myself, to my children, to everyone (hard to admit I lied, but it’s human nature so I’m told).
  • I stopped taking things and people for granted
  • My parents visited! Hooray!
  • My cat Minnie had a dirty weekend, got pregnant, contracted fleas and completely ruined my entire summer. How, you ask? The fleas that infested Minnie, infested my house and nearly drove me crazy. The kittens were super adorable and all have lovely, lovely homes now.
  • I went to Edmonton, Vancouver and Vegas (twice)
  • Michael moved out
  • My father in law passed away
  • The boys spent the summer in Canada getting to know my family
  • I experienced some of the darkest days of my entire lift

See what I mean? Not a bad year, not the best year – but definitely a memorable year. I feel blessed to have made progress on my life journey. I’ve discovered the adult version of the girl I once was. A girl I’ve missed terribly for so many years. I’ve regained my inner voice and actually started listening! For once in my life, I have looked in the mirror and actually loved what my body looked like. I am able to laugh at myself and be honest with the people in my life – these two factors have improved my quality of life immensely.

I no longer feel guilty for taking time for myself. I don’t feel guilty for being who I am and doing things I love. I am blessed to have healthy children, a loving family and fabulous friends.  Happy New Year – I am wishing you the absolute best for 2010!

Leave a comment